

July 12, 2014

KEGS Foundation Announcement

20 Geophysics Scholarships Awarded for 2014/15

The Directors of the KEGS Foundation are very pleased to announce the awarding of a near-record 20 scholarships totalling more than \$16,000 to fourteen undergraduate and six graduate students in geophysics at eleven Canadian universities for the forthcoming academic year (2014/15).

These awards mark the fifteenth year of the KEGS Foundation's scholarship program directed at fostering the education of future geophysicists in Canada. The high number of recipients and the level of scholarship awards for 2014/15 reflect both the record number of well qualified applicants and the continued strong financial support of the Foundation by the geophysical and exploration community across Canada despite a significantly reduced level of overall activity in the mineral resource sector. The Foundation regrets that its resources were not sufficient to extend support to a number of well-qualified and deserving graduate students at this time; however, seventeen additional graduate students received book awards or travel bursaries, with four applicants receiving scholarships from the SEG Foundation.

The fourteen undergraduates from nine universities who received KEGS Foundation scholarships for 2014/15 are:

David Cray, Memorial University

Jennifer Adam, University of New Brunswick

Emily Griffiths and Malcolm Hodgskiss, McGill University

Geoff Podrucky, Laurentian University

Danielle Beaulne, Benjamin Ewasko & Katie Irwin, Queen's University

Joseph Farrugia, University of Western Ontario

Yana Tyomkin, University of Manitoba

Ibinabo Bestmann, Landon Safron & Karl-Yvan Mome-Etindele, University of Alberta

Philip Fortin ®, University of British Columbia (BCGS Scholarship)



The six graduate recipients from four universities who received KEGS Foundation scholarships to support the commencement or continuation of their MSc or PhD studies in 2014/15, are:

Maxim Ralchenko ® (MSc), Carleton University (KEGS Pioneers Scholarship)

Michael Cunningham (MSc), Carleton University (CGG Airborne Geophysics Scholarship)

Jennifer Blanchard (MSc), Carleton University (WAMIC Geophysics Scholarship)

Yelena Kropivnitskaya ® (PhD), University of Western Ontario (GSC Pioneers Scholarship)

Yasaman Khajehnouri ® (PhD), École Polytechnique

Yara Mohajerani (PhD), University of Toronto/University of California, Irvine

The amount of each scholarship awarded ranges from \$500 to \$1500, depending on the recipient's merit and need and the available Foundation funds. The recipients of specific endowed scholarships are noted above, and renewals of prior awards indicated by ®.

In particular, the following students received specific endowed scholarships which honour notable geophysical pioneers and supporting organizations:

- Maxim Ralchenko, currently an MSc candidate attending Carleton University and a prior scholarship recipient, received the prestigious KEGS Pioneers Scholarship* in recognition of his academic excellence and innovative potential; his MSc research is focused on further development of the Vitalert in-mine communications system;
- Michael Cunningham, who will be beginning his MSc studies at Carleton, is the recipient of the CGG (formerly Fugro) Airborne Geophysics Scholarship*; he will be researching ways to reduce magnetometer noise in UAV-borne aeromagnetic instrumentation.
- Yelena Kropivnitskaya, currently pursuing a PhD at Western focusing on improved realtime identification of seismic hazards, received the GSC Pioneers Scholarship*, which honours the many important GSC geophysical innovators and pioneers, in a renewal of her prior award.
- Jennifer Blanchard, who will be beginning her MSc studies in exploration geophysics at Carleton this fall focusing on mafic complexes, received the WAMIC Geophysics Scholarship*, one of a number of scholarships originally funded by the long-established Women's Association of Mining In Canada.
- Philip Fortin, who will be completing his undergraduate studies at UBC next year, has been awarded a renewal of the BCGS Scholarship* established in 2004 by the BC Geophysical Society and supported by further generous donations.



Other graduate students receiving scholarships for the upcoming academic year include:

Yasaman Khajehnouri, PhD candidate at École Polytechnique, who is studying the spectral IP response of concrete containing minor pyrrhotite, related to a major issue and lawsuit arising from use of Po-contaminated aggregate which has caused many deteriorating concrete foundations in Quebec. She previously received KEGS Foundation support as an undergraduate.

Yara Mohajerani, who has completed a very impressive, multi-disciplinary BSc in physics at the UofT, will be starting his PhD program at UC Irvine, focusing on developing further applications of the GRACE satellite gravity gradiometer project.

In addition, two graduate students (Eric Chou, École Polytecnique and Tauhid Belal Khan, Western) are eligible to receive support for travel to attend KEGS geophysical events, and a further fifteen students (see appended list) will be receiving relevant book awards to enhance their appreciation of mining-related geophysical technology and applications.

Lastly, the Foundation is pleased to advise that Luke Graves of the University of Toronto has received the KEGS-Ontario Scholarship from the SEG Foundation to assist in completing his undergraduate studies. (An SEG announcement of other Canadian scholarship recipients, as well as recipients of the Zonge, Hohman, Ward and Keller Scholarships, is expected shortly, anticipated to include three KF graduate applicants).

Thanks to generous support by KEGS, all of the above awardees will also receive a free KEGS membership entitling them to fully subsidized participation at a KEGS Geophysical Breakfast and at the annual KEGS Symposium during the upcoming year. Depending on the Foundation's resources and need, they may also receive additional travel assistance to facilitate their participation at these events. All students will also be encouraged to participate in KEGS or other local professional societies, and, where relevant, to present their research at a suitable event.

The Directors extend their best wishes for further success to all the above recipients in their studies and future careers, along with gratitude for the continuing support of the Foundation and its scholarship program by the Canadian exploration and geophysical community, including recent major donations by the Phoenix Geophysics, Lamontagne Geophysics, BC Geophysical Society, KEGS and the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame, along with various individuals who took advantage of the Foundation's matching donation program established with very generous corporate and individual support.

Jerry Roth, Chair Stephen Reford, Vice-Chair

(Tel: 416-449-2226) (Tel: 416-368-2888)

*See details of endowed scholarships honouring notable geophysicists and organizations on the Foundation' website under 'Donations'.



List of Book Award Recipients (2014/15)

Undergraduates:

Luke Graves** (5th yr) University of Toronto

Linan Xu University of Alberta

Graduate students (MSc):

Yunfeng Chen University of Alberta

Luqi Cui University of Western Ontario

David-Ray Banville Laval University

Anton Biryukov University of Toronto (Engineering)

Eric Meunier Carleton University

Chelsea Squires Memorial University

Graduate students (PhD):

Dong Shi University of Toronto

Amna Feroz University of Alberta

Lei Wu University of Alberta

Behzad Hassani University of Western Ontario

Hadis Samadi Alinia University of Western Ontario

Jennifer Fohring**

University of British Columbia

Sarah Devriese** University of British Columbia

KEGF14h9 2014 Scholarship Announcement – Revised- Corrected

^{**}Also receiving scholarship awards from the SEG Foundation